Treatment of children and infant mortality by victorian authors like charles kingsley and thomas hardy Paper

 Treatment of children and infant mortality by victorian authors like charles kingsley and thomas hardy Paper must be at least 1250 words. Please, no plagiarized work! The books on child rearing of this era attempted to educate and grow the children into productive adults compatible with the age. For instance, Lewis Carroll, the well-known author of Alice in Wonderland parodies the poem of Bates, “Speak Gently” which advises the parents and other elders to speak softly to the children and treat them well, for they already had enough to fear and were under some “anxious care” (Bates, 1853, p.15). In fact, this period is also a time when infant mortality was high and the threat of mortality facing infants was 30 times worse compared to what it is today (Garrett, 2006, p.253). Carroll captures this nature of parenting explicitly through a fairy tale world known as Wonderland. In the fiction, the characters of authority are shown to be funny and rather absurd at times.

Carroll’s work is still published as a children’s classic collection and loved by young and adults alike. Lear, a rival of Carroll also published his limericks, which criticizes the social code of behavior in Victorian society. Like Carroll, Lear also puts forth certain inevitable violent ends of the characters. The White Rabbit in Alice in Wonderland keeps on reminding the reader that it will be prone to losing its head if he is late to arrive at the Duchess’. (Charney, 2005, p.284) This also reveals the inevitability of social codes and none of the writers could escape that. The Duchess symbolize a typical strict parent of the Victorian age as she tosses her baby pig up into the air and sings the following lullaby to her son, ending every line with a rough shake to the baby: “Speak roughly to your little boy, And beat him when he sneezes: He only does it to annoy, Because he knows it teases” (Carroll, n.d., p.44). This is also a parody of the poem of Bates “Speak Gently”. The story also shows the coming of age of the child Alice, as she tends to forget her nursery poems and finds the characters conversing in a language unknown to her. This introduces her to a whole new world when she resides at the crossing stage from childhood to adolescence.&nbsp.

Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Treatment of children and infant mortality by victorian authors like charles kingsley and thomas hardy Paper
Just from $13/Page
Order Essay
Order your essay today and save 20% with the discount code: OFFNOW

Order a unique copy of this paper

550 words
We'll send you the first draft for approval by September 11, 2018 at 10:52 AM
Total price:
$26
Top Academic Writers Ready to Help
with Your Research Proposal
Live Chat+1(978) 822-0999EmailWhatsApp

Order your essay today and save 20% with the discount code OFFNOW